The sleeve surgery decision

I was leaning towards a RnY and the cost was around $28k.  Our insurance doesn’t cover bariatric surgery at all.  (They will spend thousands treating the consequences of obesity but they won’t spend a penny to solve the problem). I considered taking out a loan for the surgery but felt strongly that borrowing was not God’s plan.

At a local weight loss surgeon’s seminar, I learned about the Vertical Sleeve procedure.  My research of VSG brought me to the blogs of several past patients of Dr. Fernando Garcia in Tijuana, Mexico (and also practicing in the US). That $28k turned into about $6k including plane tickets.

I talked at length with Dr. Garcia’s patients.   I read forums like BariatricPal.com.  I became comfortable with the idea.  I’m going to do it May 12, 2016!

 

Love and God’s blessings,
Sarah

Leave a Reply

